IEC to deregister 21 parties

Cape Town - The Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said on Friday it has warned 21 political parties holding no seats in legislatures that they will be deregistered if they fail to renew their registration before 29 August.

These included the Black Consciousness Party, the Khoisan Party, the Dagga Party, the Socialist Green Coalition, Women Forward, and the World Solidarity Movement.

In terms of the Electoral Commission Act, parties that did not win representation in the national or local legislatures need to re-register annually.

"Parties have until 29 August 2014 to renew their registration. Once this process has been completed, a notice of deregistration will be published in the Government Gazette," the IEC said.

Read more on: iec politics
Donald Dykman 2014/08/22 01:20:00 PM
No no no not the dagga party
Donald Dykman 2014/08/22 01:20:19 PM
No no no not the dagga party
Donald Dykman 2014/08/22 01:21:08 PM
No no no not the dagga party was gona voted for them last time but got to stoned
Hank Thetank 2014/08/22 01:58:10 PM
De Register the ANC please Weve had enough of them and they cost a fortune Oh...and they are all a bunch of criminals who steal our money, do nothing and moan a lot
Frans Mosia 2014/08/22 02:24:54 PM
Surely marijuana will be the first to be removed.
Pamela Mika 2014/08/22 02:48:01 PM
Oh nooooo, not the dagga party, please don't.. They are our only hope!