2010 Metro FM Music Awards nominees

LEADING contenders for the 10th Metro FM Music Awards are DJ Kent (with four nominations) and Black Coffee, Simphiwe Dana and Phila (with three). These are the names on everyone’s lips, as well as Professor, whose song Jezebel has been tipped to take top honours for song of the year.

The hard-working Black Coffee, who will be performing in Pietermaritzburg on Thursday, has won favour with fans around the country and is nominated in five categories, including Best Produced Album, Best Dance Album, Song of the Year, Best Music Video and Hit Single of the Year. Simphiwe Dana, whose Kulture Noir album has anchored her diva status, is nominated for Best Female Artist, Best Produced Album and Best Contemporary Jazz. The Best Male Artist honours will be contested between HHP, Zakes Bantwini and DJ Cleo.

Other artists likely to walk away winners include Jozi, Deep Level and Liquideep.

This year’s MMAs will take place in Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, at the Mbombela Stadium. The show features performances by a range of the hottest contemporary artists, and will be aired on Sunday, December 12 at 8 pm on SABC1.


To vote for your favourites in each category by SMS, text the exact category (e.g. Song of the Year) followed by your nomination, to 34764. All SMSes are charged at R2.

Best African Pop: Malik — Mthulise, Nomfusi — Kwazibani, Phila — My First Love

Best Produced Album: Black Coffee — Home Brewed, Simphiwe Dana — Kulture Noir, DJ Kent — I Can’t Survive

Best Dance Album: Black Coffee — Home Brewed, DJ Kent — I Can’t Survive, Liquideep — Fabrics of the Heart

Best Female Artist: Pale — Sing Me A Song, Maira — Oh How I Need You, Simphiwe Dana — Kulture Noir

Best Urban Gospel: Winnie Mashaba — Go Tseba Jehova, Rebecca Malope — Uzohamba Nami, Joyous Celebration — Joyous

Best Group Album: Liquideep — Fabrics of the heart, Deep Level — Deep Level, Jozi — Wild Life

Best Hip-Hop Album: Khuli Chana — The Motswako Origator, Hip Hop Pantsula — Dumela, Deep Level — Deep Level

Best Contemporary Jazz Album: Asanda Bam — Fragile, Xolisa — Afro Blue, Simphiwe Dana — Kulture Noir

Best Kwaito Album: Mandoza — Real Deal, L’vovo — Irresistible, Professor — University of Kalawa

Best Male Album: HHP — Dumela, Zakes Bantwini — Lovelight & Music, DJ Cleo — Eskhaleni 7

Best Newcomer: Pale — Sing Me A Song, DJ Fisherman — Fish Tank, Phila — My First Love

Best R&B: Bryce Anderson — Music In My Life, Verd — Verd, Chad Saaiman — Thinking About You

Song of the Year: Black Coffee — Superman, DJ Fisherman — Happy Song, Professor — Jezebel

Best Styled Artist/Group: Mandoza — Real Deal, Phila — My First Love, Jozi — Wild Life

Hit Single of the Year: Miza — Superhero, JR — Make The Circle Bigger, DJ Kent — Let’s fall in love again

Best Collaboration of the Year: DJ Kent & Relo — Let’s Fall In Love Again, DJ Cleo feat. Baba Mthethwa — Shapa, Stoan & Speedy — Second Sunrise

Best Music Video: Skwatta Kamp — Hey, Stoan & Speedy — Second Sunrise, Jozi — Dance Like

Best Compilation Album: Lulo Café — What About Soul, Ganyani — Ganyani House Grooves, Vinny da Vinci — Deep House Volume 7