Vote for your favourite local celebs in the Channel24 Awards

From Gareth to Boity, SA celebs know how to get the social media timelines buzzing. Do you have a favourite celeb #selfie that was taken this year? Or how about your favourite celeb #belfie? Channel24 is launching the first local online celebrity awards that honour South African musicians, celebrities or public figures who have a powerful and influential online presence.

There are 11 categories in total, with five nominees in each category. Readers are encouraged to vote for the celeb which they feel positively adds to the South African online sphere. Social Media has come to the fore with many local and international celebrities fully embracing the platforms. Channel24 is excited to acknowledge South African celebrities for their influential online presence.

“We’re excited about this fresh new project. Social media is such an important part of our everyday lives and it was about time that we give recognition to those influencers who use their social media powers for good,” Herman Eloff, Channel24 editor, said.

The voting process will run from 31 October to 24 November and the winners will be announced on 1 December. To vote for your much-loved celeb go to: http://ow.ly/DBE3X. In addition to ensuring your favourite wins, by voting you could stand a chance to win an iPad Mini or one of five Channel24 Hampers.

The categories and nominees for the 2014 Channel24 Online Awards are:

1.      Best celebrity #selfie

·         Lee-Ann Liebenberg = http://instagram.com/p/tL0gs3sUzQ/?modal=true

·         Jeannie D = http://instagram.com/p/udag-MLC_k/

·         Bonang Matheba = http://instagram.com/p/uGN8O7wRW9/

·         Nonhle Thema = http://instagram.com/p/udqE0fia46/#

·         Katlego Maboe = http://instagram.com/p/tHhQAitsfb/

    

2.      Best celebrity #belfie

·         Boity Thulo = http://instagram.com/p/odn_8nnvnG/

·         Pam Andrews = http://instagram.com/p/ui5F3cPaM7/

·         Minnie Dlamini = http://instagram.com/p/us73yAMbOm/#

·         Rolene Strauss = http://instagram.com/p/rxIIctCJUm/

·         Jenna Pietersen = http://instagram.com/p/udm_1iL5XM/

 

3.      Best celebrity couple on social media

·         Elana Afrika Bredenkamp & Ian Bredenkamp = http://instagram.com/p/tpwL6aMWiO/?modal=true

·         Leandie du Randt & Bouwer Bosch = http://instagram.com/p/s9pC01GCUS/?modal=true

·         Lala Hirayama & Chris Nkosi = http://instagram.com/lallaandchris011

·         Karlien van Jaarsveld & Derick Hougaard = https://twitter.com/derickhougaard/status/279474295594430464

·         Melinda Bam & Adriaan Bergh = http://instagram.com/p/ogASNbFCXA/?modal=true

 

4.      Best Facebook Page – Individual/Group/Band

·         Beatenberg = https://www.facebook.com/Beatenberg?ref=br_tf

·         Gareth Cliff = https://www.facebook.com/GarethCliffOfficial

·         Locnville = https://www.facebook.com/Locnville

·         Jack Parow = https://www.facebook.com/jack.parow

·         KFM = https://www.facebook.com/kfmbreakfast

 

5.      Best Twitter account – Individual/Group/Band

·         Anele Mdoda - @Anele

·         DJ Fresh - @DJFreshSA

·         5 FM- @5FM

·         Liezl van der Westhuizen – @Liezelv

·         Sizwe Dhlomo - @SizweDhlomo

 

6.      Best Instagram account – Individual/Group/Band

·         Expresso Show = http://instagram.com/expressoshow

·         Jo-Ann Strauss = http://instagram.com/jo_annstrauss#

·         Zuraida Jardine = http://instagram.com/zuraidajardine

·         Danny K = http://instagram.com/dannykj23

·         Pabi Moloi = http://instagram.com/pabimoloi

 

7.      Best YouTube channel – Individual/Group/Band

·         Anne Hirsch = https://www.youtube.com/user/theannehirschshow

·         Suzelle DIY = https://www.youtube.com/user/SuzelleDIY

·         Anton Taylor = https://www.youtube.com/user/LankKif

·         Derick Watts and the Sunday Blues = https://www.youtube.com/user/wearethesundayblues

·         Mdu Comics = https://www.youtube.com/user/mducomics

 

8.      Best Social Media Tweet/Post

·         Jeremy Loops - http://tinyurl.com/nj5sqot

·         Pam Andrews - http://instagram.com/p/uH_E_JvaP0/

·         AKA - http://tinyurl.com/lt9ov53

·         Janez Vermeiren - http://instagram.com/p/rtnnEQKpot/?modal=true

·         Anne Hirsch - http://tinyurl.com/mgwp5ly

 

9.      Sexiest female celebrity to follow on social media

·         Jeannie D = http://instagram.com/iamjeannied/

·         Lee-Ann Liebenberg = http://instagram.com/leeann_liebenberg

·         Khanyi Mbau = http://instagram.com/mbaureloaded

·         Bonang Matheba = http://instagram.com/bonang_m

·         Kim Engelbrecht = http://instagram.com/kimengelbrecht

 

10.  Sexiest male celebrity to follow on social media

·         K2Brothers = http://instagram.com/k2brothers

·         Janez Vermeiren = http://instagram.com/janez_vermeiren

·         Lunga Shabalala = http://instagram.com/lunga_shabalala

·         Maps Maponyane = http://instagram.com/mmaponyane

·         Clint Brink = http://instagram.com/clintonthebrink

 

11.  Golden crown award for overall best online presence

·         Gareth Cliff = https://www.facebook.com/GarethCliffOfficial

·         Rolene Strauss = http://instagram.com/rolenestrauss

·         DJ Fresh = https://twitter.com/DJFreshSA

·         Jeannie D = http://instagram.com/iamjeannied/

·         AKA = https://twitter.com/akaworldwide

 

For more information go to Channel24 or visit the Facebook or Twitter Page.

 

Ends