Express correspondent scoops top award

THE Eastern Cape Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (DSRAC), in partnership with the Eastern Cape Sports Confederation, held its annual glittering function to honour the outstanding sportsmen and sportswomen together with individuals and sports officials at the Boardwalk Hotel on Friday evening.

Nelson Mandela Bay collected the most awards for the 2017/2018 season.

PE Express sports correspondent, Selby Madikane, went home with the award for Photographer of the Year. He was also a finalist in the Journalist of the Year category.

Madikane has been writing as a freelancer for the PE Express for 10 years and this was his first time winning this award.

Several other awards under his belt include SAFA Nelson Mandela Bay Journalist of the Year, and awards from Zakhele Football Association 2014 and 2015, New Brighton Football Association in 2008, 2009, and 2010, Zwide Football Association in 2011 and 2017, SAFA NMB Futsal in 2009, Bontle Tigers RFC in 2011 and 2013 and Shining Stars FC in 2015.

At the event, the audience was entertained by Lisa Yengeni Jazz Band, Ibhayi and Aqua Gymnasts and Ikati Esengxoweni Group.

Among the high profile people who were in attendance were Eastern Cape Premier Phumulo Masualle, Sports MEC Bulelwa Tunyiswa, MEC Vuyani Limba, EC Sports Confederation President Mkhululi Magada, NMB Executive Mayor Athol Trollip, Standard Bank Senior Provincial Manager Rodgers Siyengo, the Sisulu family and other provincial and regional sports as well as political leaders.

Premier Masualle urged the people of the province to use sport as a tool to unite people of all races. He also said that sport had the potential to take people to better places.

The main sponsor of the event, Standard Bank, was represented by their provincial executive head, Gary Markson, who stated that the athletes should never give up even if things were tough. “Athletes should never stop moving forward but they should make sure that they achieve their dreams. We at Standard Bank would like to make sure that we support this major provincial event so that the outstanding sports stars and individuals are rewarded for the good work that they do to keep our provincial flag flying.”

There were 25 categories in which the top achievers were awarded. Nelson Mandela Bay scooped 12 awards. National long jump star Luvo Manyonga made the metro very proud when he went home with the Sportsman of the Year and Sports Star of the Year awards.

In the MEC Excellence Awards, Mveleli Ncula was also awarded for his role and contribution in sports development.

Other awards won by Nelson Mandela Bay sports stars and individuals:

  • Mzoxolo Sean Mafisane (Indigenous Games)
  • Vuyokazi Nkanjeni (The Herald)
  • Mandy Zoone­kynd (gymnastics)
  • Warriors Cricket Team
  • Luxolo Adams (athletics)
  • Mbasa Qilingile (powerlifting)
  • a Disability: Ndyebo Lamani (judo)
  • Bianca Zoonekynd (gymnastics)