New dean to start after sabbatical

Professor Bongani Mayosi who heads up the Medicine Faculty will be taking over the reigns as the new dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Cape Town (UCT) as of next year September.

The delay between his appointment and assuming duties is as a result of his sabbatical at Harvard University from January to August 2016.

Born in Umthatha in the Eastern Cape, Mayosi earned his Bachelor of Medical Science with distinction at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in 1986, followed by his BCMhB (with distinction) in 1989. He was admitted to the Fellowship of the College of Physicians of SA in 1995.

He earned his DPhil from the University of Oxford in 2003. Mayosi then joined UCT in 1992 as senior house officer in the Department of Medicine and has been head of Department of Medicine at Groote Schuur Hospital and UCT since 2006.

Most recently he was inducted into UCT’s College of Fellows along with five of his peers.

Professor Mayosi’s work focuses on heart diseases particularly prevalent in developing countries. He led a groundbreaking series of multinational research studies into the management of pericarditis, including an African trial of the use of steroids in treating tuberculous (TB) pericarditis.

More recently, Professor Mayosi led the first large-scale multinational study of rheumatic heart disease in the world which is in its first phase.

Since 2010 Professor Mayosi has attracted more than R100 million in research grants. As mentioned above, he has developed valuable collaborations with academics in other countries (and especially across Africa) in researching the management of TB pericarditis, prevention of rheumatic heart disease, and genetics of heart disease.

Professor Mayosi has held numerous editorial responsibilities over the last 15 years, and has published more than 250 papers in peer-reviewed journals. He has received many awards and honours during his distinguished career, including: election to the Fellowship of the World Academy of Arts and Science (2013); South African Medical Association/Bonitas Medical Fund merit award for health research (2013); National Science and Technology Foundation – BHP Billiton award (2012); National Research Foundation award for transforming the Science Cohort in South Africa (2011); and the Order of Mapungubwe, Silver (2009) to name just a few of his more recent honours.

Professor Gregory Hussey has been the interim dean since Professor Wim de Villiers resigned to take up the post of Rector and Vice-Chancellor at Stellenbosch University, and he has kindly agreed to continue in this capacity until August 2016.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank Professor Hussey for his excellent management of the faculty during this challenging transition period.

Some highlights of his career include:

•Honorary Registrar, The Colleges of Medicine of South Africa. 2002-2006

•Elected member (by Senate) of UCT Council. 2004-2008

•Chairman, subcommittee for postgraduate education and training (medical), Health Professions Council of South Africa. 2004-2010

•President, South African Heart Association. 2008-2009

•President, College of Physicians of South Africa. 2008-2014

•Chairman, National Health Research Committee. 2010 – present

•Chairman, Rheumatic Fever Council, World Heart Federation. 2011-2014

•President, Pan-African Society of Cardiology. 2013 – present

•Trustee, UCT Trust (UK). 2014 – present

•Chairman, ministerial task team investigating the Health Professions Council of South Africa. 2015