LSC ANC members selected for executive committee

THE ANC Lower South Coast (LSC) region had congratulated four of its members who were selected as members of the Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) during the eighth provincial elective conference, held at the Moses Mabida Stadium in Durban, over the weekend.

Former Education MEC Peggy Nkonyeni, Nontembeko Boyce, Umdoni Municipality Deputy Mayor Sibongile Khathi and Sboniso Duma were elected as additional members of the PEC.

Nkonyeni was a part of the losing slate during the ANC provincial conference held in that province in 2016. She was subsequently co-opted to serve on the provincial executive as an additional committee member but she resigned from the position in order to focus on her duties as Education MEC.

ANC spokesman Selvan Chetty said the party was pleased and was confident that the election of regional leaders from the LSC into the PEC would strengthen the ANC’s ability to consolidate efforts at building a stronger, younger and united regional leadership.

“As a region, we remain focused on ensuring improved service delivery to all our people as well as working towards a decisive election victory in 2019,” said Chetty

He also thanked all ANC members, staff, and supporters from the Lower South Coast region for their participation in activities leading up to the success of the eighth provincial conference.

ANCYL spokesperson Teddy Hlophe also congratulated the ANC for holding its conference successfully.

He said the election of the new PEC comes at a time when there are many challenges facing the country and the province.

“We are confident that the young lions of OR Tambo in our province, elected into the ANC KZN PEC led by our current ANCYL Provincial Chairperson Kwazi Mshengu and our current ANCYL Secretary General Njabulo Nzuza, will inject the necessary energy to ensure that the African National Congress is able to respond effectively to the various challenges facing our people in the province of KwaZulu-Natal,” said Mr Hlophe

“The ANCYL Lower South Coast sends its best wishes to the collective leadership, under the guidance of Sihle Zikalala as the Provincial Chairperson and Mdumiseni Ntuli as the Provincial Secretary, in its quest of uniting our movement and the entire congress movement in the province of KwaZulu-Natal,” he added.