IEC to deregister 21 parties

Cape Town - The Electoral Commission of SA (IEC) said on Friday it has warned 21 political parties holding no seats in legislatures that they will be deregistered if they fail to renew their registration before 29 August.

These included the Black Consciousness Party, the Khoisan Party, the Dagga Party, the Socialist Green Coalition, Women Forward, and the World Solidarity Movement.

In terms of the Electoral Commission Act, parties that did not win representation in the national or local legislatures need to re-register annually.

"Parties have until 29 August 2014 to renew their registration. Once this process has been completed, a notice of deregistration will be published in the Government Gazette," the IEC said.